Gradient overlay
  • 1 1/4 Cup(s) (2-1/2 sticks) margarine or butter, softened
  • 3/4 Cup(s) firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 Cup(s) granulated sugar
  • 1 Egg(s)
  • 1 Teaspoon(s) vanilla
  • 1 1/2 Cup(s) all-purpose flour
  • 1 Teaspoon(s) Baking Soda
  • 1 Teaspoon(s) ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 Teaspoon(s) salt (optional)
  • 1/4 Teaspoon(s) ground nutmeg
  • 3 Cup(s) Quaker® Oats (quick or old fashioned, uncooked)

Cooking Instructions

Heat oven to 375°F. In large bowl, beat margarine and sugars until creamy. Add egg and vanilla; beat well. Add combined flour, baking soda, cinnamon, salt and nutmeg; mix well. Add oats; mix well. Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake 8 to 9 minutes for a chewy cookie or 10 to 11 minutes for a crisp cookie. Cool 1 minute on cookie sheets; remove to wire rack. Cool completely. Store tightly covered.

Serving Tips:
Bar Cookies:
Press dough onto bottom of ungreased 13 x 9-inch baking pan. Bake 25 to 30 minutes or until light golden brown. Cool completely in pan on wire rack. Cut into bars. Store tightly covered.
24 BARS
Variations:
  • Stir in 1 cup raisins or chopped nuts.
  • Omit spices; stir in 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips, butterscotch chips or peanut butter-flavored chips.

COOK NOTE:

High Altitude Adjustment: Increase flour to 1-3/4 cups and bake as directed.


RATINGS & REVIEWS


Quaker's Best Oatmeal Cookies is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 85.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST oatmeal cookies i ever made everyone in my family loved this amazing recipe it is life changing. I never made cookies before and theses just melt in your mouth and they were super easy to make no trouble at all
Date published: 2017-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent cookies...with a few tweeks I used all brown sugar. Only a dash of cinnamon. No nutmeg. Added walnuts, dried cranberries, coconut, and pumpkin seeds. A-m-a-z-ing. And I don't even really like oatmeal cookies.
Date published: 2017-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Quakers Best Oatmeal Cookies is my all-time favorite cookie to eat with chocolate chips and walnuts in them minus cinnamon. They are hands-down, the BEST!
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Oats are hard Very disappointing. The oats are still hard. I didn't think it was possible to cook oats in 8 to 10 minutes. Maybe oatmeal would work but these cookies are not good. I should have just bought them at Costco. That is what I bought previously. Tho bottoms of the cookies get too well done.
Date published: 2017-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Husband always asks for these! These cookies are my husbands very favorite. He would eat them every day if I would let him. I make more during the Holidays, and he is a very happy man!
Date published: 2017-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect consistency Made these cookies for the first time. They are a prefect blend of chewy and crispy . Very flavorful . I added golden raisins that added great flavor .
Date published: 2017-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best cookies ever I love these cookies and so does the rest of the family. This is a go to recipe when you have a sweet tooth craving and it's easy to follow!
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DELICIOUS! These cookies were absolutely delicious. I baked them in a convection oven just under 10 minutes. PERFECT!
Date published: 2018-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best recipe These cookies are absolutely delicious. I did cut down on the sugars, and they still turned out amazing.
Date published: 2017-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family favorite This is a relatively easy recipe for a good old fashioned oatmeal cookie, which are my favorite.
Date published: 2018-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite I don't like raisins AT ALL so I substitute mini choc chips. The best cookies I make. yummers!
Date published: 2018-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed anyways I dropped by rounded teaspoon and the cookies did not flatten out. But they were enjoyed
Date published: 2017-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My kids is going to love cookies I love allot them and Ian going to try all of them with my kids and help with eating good
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best oatmeal cookie recipe My kids and husband love these cookies and much healthier than chocolate chip cookies!
Date published: 2018-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband loved these cookies I made these using old fashion oats. They were wonderful!
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from GREAT RECIPE LOUSY WEBSITE There is no printer friendly option....my printer spit out FIVE pages of advertisements and the ACTUAL recipe is on a font so small that I need cheater glasses to read it...
Date published: 2017-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING!!! I followed the recipe as written. I did add the chocolate chips and nuts. I did half the recipe with pecans, and the other half with walnuts. I am trying to find a perfect recipe to send my son at college. I used a medium scoop to portion the dough. I cooked the cookies for 10 minutes. They were crispy on the bottom and chewy inside. We loved them. We liked the pecans better. I can't wait to send the next batch to our son.
Date published: 2018-08-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A classic I've been making this recipe since I was little but I've always tweaked it to prevent flat cookies. You have to add about 1/2 cup more flour and use 1 cup less oats. I also use 1 tsp baking soda & you have to add the salt. For a nice chewy cookie with a golden crust I bake for 8 minutes. The reason so many people get flat cookies for this recipe is because there's not enough "dough" to bind the oats together - 3 cups is too much!
Date published: 2018-10-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from taste dry unflavorful. The cookies didn't have much flavor and I followed the recipe exactly even cooked 8 minutes so they wouldn't be dry.
Date published: 2017-01-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It sucks This is the worse recipe I've ever tried it will not hold together and it bakes horrible save your time and ingredients
Date published: 2017-05-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from delicious cookies Oatmeal cookies for real delicious so good my family enjoy them
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Need a working print option The print button doesn't work. The print preview shows blank pages... I still plan to make the cookies though.
Date published: 2017-06-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing This is the first time I have reviewed anything. They turned out extremely greasy. I went back and checked the recipe for the amount of butter and I used the correct amount. Way too much. The cookies fell apart. I gave up and rolled them into balls after they were cooked. They don’t taste bad but couldn’t serve them to anyone but family.
Date published: 2018-07-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from They spread out way too much. As I was making them I thought that there was too much butter in them. The flavor is ok, but not like my old Quaker oatmeal cookies. I didn't have my recope with me, so tried these. They felt way to greasy when I was putting them on the cookie sheet. They didn't puff up and I used a new box of baking soda also.
Date published: 2017-02-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Someone goofed on the butter I've made these for years but didn't have my recipe handy, so I looked it up online. The cookies spread like crazy and all you can taste is butter. I went back and checked and sure enough, the actual recipe uses about half the butter. (NOT 2 1/2 sticks!) Please fix this. I just had to throw out a batch.
Date published: 2018-09-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dry The cookies are very dry and I followed the recipe exactly. It said you needed brown sugar but it never said when to use it. So I chose not to use it because there might have been a typo. Very disappointed and I cooked them for nine minutes too so they weren't dry. Not a lot of flavour to the cookies.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The cookie from my childhood revisited. For years I've tried many oatmeal cookie recipes. They were good but something was missing from the cookies Mom used to make. Amazingly I found the flavor I'd been looking for in 40 years of plain oatmeal cookies. Nutmeg is that ingredient that was missing. It makes the cookie great.
Date published: 2018-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My wife really liked these. I personally don’t like oatmeal cookies but my wife does. I found this recipe and made a batch for her. She thinks they are really good and I found the recipe to be quick and easy to follow. I did add a drizzle of icing made from butter, vanilla, and powdered sugar.
Date published: 2018-10-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Recipe Changed This has always been my go to recipe, however it has changed. I needed to cut down on the amount of flour...however, I had already put most of it in to the batter, so I added about 3 T of butter and another egg.....still not right, but not a crumbled dry mess.
Date published: 2017-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Secret" family recipe This recipe, while having changed slightly throughout the years, is now in its third generation of being the most popular cookie at every family reunion. We add a cup of coconut and a third-half of marshino cherry on top. I have made this many, many times
Date published: 2018-09-15
  • y_2018, m_10, d_23, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_85
  • loc_en_US, sid_3994, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_quakeroats

Vanishing Oatmeal
Raisin Cookies

GET RECIPE

No-fuss breakfasts for
on-the-go mornings

MAKE OVERNIGHT OATS