Gradient overlay
  • 1 1/4 Cup(s) (2-1/2 sticks) margarine or butter, softened
  • 3/4 Cup(s) firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 Cup(s) granulated sugar
  • 1 Egg(s)
  • 1 Teaspoon(s) vanilla
  • 1 1/2 Cup(s) all-purpose flour
  • 1 Teaspoon(s) Baking Soda
  • 1 Teaspoon(s) ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 Teaspoon(s) salt (optional)
  • 1/4 Teaspoon(s) ground nutmeg
  • 3 Cup(s) Quaker® Oats (quick or old fashioned, uncooked)

Cooking Instructions

Heat oven to 375°F. In large bowl, beat margarine and sugars until creamy. Add egg and vanilla; beat well. Add combined flour, baking soda, cinnamon, salt and nutmeg; mix well. Add oats; mix well. Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake 8 to 9 minutes for a chewy cookie or 10 to 11 minutes for a crisp cookie. Cool 1 minute on cookie sheets; remove to wire rack. Cool completely. Store tightly covered.

Serving Tips:
Bar Cookies:
Press dough onto bottom of ungreased 13 x 9-inch baking pan. Bake 25 to 30 minutes or until light golden brown. Cool completely in pan on wire rack. Cut into bars. Store tightly covered.
24 BARS
Variations:
  • Stir in 1 cup raisins or chopped nuts.
  • Omit spices; stir in 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips, butterscotch chips or peanut butter-flavored chips.

COOK NOTE:

High Altitude Adjustment: Increase flour to 1-3/4 cups and bake as directed.


RATINGS & REVIEWS


Quaker's Best Oatmeal Cookies is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 85.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quaker Oats This recipe is the absolute best recipe for Oatmeal Cookies I've ever had, and I'm sure the awesome Quaker oats is the biggest part of the flavor (I added 1-1/2 C. raisins). Heavens, so so worth the recipe that we double it in my home when we make it. I'm a senior & grew up with my mom using Quaker oats AND we used to make drums out of the cardboard cartons!
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and delicious! I baked these cookies for about 10 min per batch 1 dozen at a time, they came out perfectly soft and chewy. They look almost underdone when first pulled out, but continue to finish and set in the hot pan. The spices make these a nice savory cookie, great if you want a little sweet without being overwhelmed by sugar.
Date published: 2017-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deliciously Chewy Gluten Free & Dairy Free too! Made these with GF flour (Bob's Red Mill One-to-One flour) & DF GF Chocolate Mini Chips (Enjoy Life), baked 11-12 min. - deliciously chewy!
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Oatmeal Cookie Recipe Of Them All! I make these every year and always manage to talk someone who doesn't like oatmeal cookies into trying them and you know what, I have converted a nice group of people into liking these. The key ingredient is the nutmeg. That one ingredient completely makes this recipe. Instead of raisins I also use dry cranberries.
Date published: 2016-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from success both times! I have made this recipe twice so far. I use egg replacer (not the egg whites, the potato starch and tapioca stuff) instead of egg, and I leave out the nutmeg. The cook time for soft cookies is 11 minutes. Perfection!
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Friends & Family Fav! We love these cookies. I have always made mine with cranraisins since raisins are not my favorite. It makes a BIG BIG difference if you use fresh ground nutmeg. The taste of this cookie is bumped up tremendously.
Date published: 2017-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taste just like Quaker store bought soft cookies! Very simple recipe. First time making these cookies. Recipe says it makes 36 cookies. I made 24 cookies and a small pan of granola crunchy bars, cut into 6. Both were delicious.I took the cookies out at 9 minutes and they were super soft. I used white ch.chips and crushed peanuts. Can't go wrong. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the BEST! My daughter wanted to make oatmeal cookies, so we made a recipe from a cookbook I had. They were totally disappointing! The next week, I remembered I had a Quaker cookie jar. Lo and behold, it had this recipe printed on the cookie jar! This was surely a sign! We made the recipe, adding raisins at the end. These are truly delicious cookies!! Thank you!
Date published: 2017-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chewy, Tasty, Flavorful! This cookie tastes like my grandma used to make! I didn't have nutmeg, so I used pumpkin spice as a substitute! Perfect! It made 46 cookies about 2.5 inches in diameter. I made chewy cookies, baked for 8 minutes!
Date published: 2017-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick & Easy This was an easy recipe to follow; and the cookies are delicious! Loved the one bowl method, with all ingredients. It gives options for soft and gooey to cooked crispy; which gives everyone their choice!
Date published: 2018-04-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not what was expected in a Quaker Oats product!ter Thin cookie, no form, tasted okay, but will find a better recipe. Made four special bags for Father's Day. Embarrassed when not the quality cookie everyone looks forward to!
Date published: 2017-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my kids totally loved these. These were awesome. My 8 year old daughter helped. These are quick and easy for kids to do. I definitely give these 5 stars.
Date published: 2017-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Veganize! This is a delicious recipe. I used non-dairy margarine and instead of an egg used 2 tablespoons ground flax seed and 1 tablespoon molasses. Soft and chewy, just like the family loves! And egg and dairy free means cholesterol & cruelty free!
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm making more because my boyfriend loved them! They were absolutely chewy and delicious, bake for 8 minutes for maximum chewyness
Date published: 2017-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Cookies Great recipe, easy to make and tastes just like grandma used to make!
Date published: 2017-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So yum They came out wonderfully: soft, moist yet still a little chewy. I actually messed this up by using baking powder (doubled it as the Internet said to make it equivalent to baking soda). Then, I couldn't find my cookie sheets, so I used a muffin pan. I let them cook for about 12 minutes, since they were fatter portions. But still so good.
Date published: 2017-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A multi-generation favorite My Mom made these cookies for me, and when I was old enough to use the oven safely, I started making them myself! Many years later, I'm still making and loving them. Sometimes, I make a batch of buttercream frosting and make oatmeal cream pies with them. Needless to say, they don't stay around very long. This is a great recipe!
Date published: 2017-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best oatmeal cookie recipe ever!! Most oatmeal cookies recipes are bland and boring but I've made this cookie recipe twice now and it's by far the best oatmeal cookie I've ever made. They turn out chewy, moist and flavorful. I love the cinnamon in it, I did add a little extra nutmeg and allspice. I will definitely be making this again.
Date published: 2017-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe for over 40 years My mom made these for me, I make them for my kids. Only change I make is I leave out the cinnamon and nutmeg. Also, have to make three batches: my daughter and I put raisins in, my son puts semi-sweet chocolate chips in his, and my husband likes just the oatmeal cookies.
Date published: 2017-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ridiculously good my cousins grandmother has been making these for years and every year it’s the one thing I always remembered/looked forward too m. come to find out this big magical recipe we thought she had was just therecipe on the bottom of the quaker oatmeal container.
Date published: 2017-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious and easy Actually I can't bake really well. But this recipe really easy and how proud I am, sucess make this cookie, crispy on the outside, chewy in the inside.I add date and chocochip in the dough. Really delicious. Thank you very much for the recipe.
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quakers recipe from many years ago I found this recipe in the L.A. times 20 + years ago. It is without a doubt the best oat cookie recipe there is.I've made it hundreds of times with always rave reviews. If your feeling in need of a compliment turn on the oven make a batch!
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Better half likes it eliminate white sugar and cookies are not overly sweet. Perfect for diabetic prone spouses
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They are the best I've ever made!! Couldn't find my old recipe , decided on this one. No regrets. They are the best! I baked them for 10 minutes and all 3 dozen came out perfect. I also added about half cup raisins . T'is my new go to for Oatmeal Cookies. MMM Delicious
Date published: 2017-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious cookies These are just how I like oatmeal cookies. I omitted all of the spices and added red and green smarties for the kids for xmas. I halved the recipe and still got more than 3 dozen cookies... I guess I make them small!
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy! Can’t have chocolate, but wanted a dessert. Had all the ingredients in the cabinet, so no going to the store for an odd ingredient. Easy recipe to follow with YUMMY results. Tastes like the cookies mom use to make!
Date published: 2018-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results! I baked with this recipe twice for a bake sale at work. I sold all the cookies and my coworkers loved it! I also really liked them. I skipped the nutmeg and added some granny smith apple pieces. Yummy!
Date published: 2017-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best oatmeal raisin cookies I ever made! I've used Quaker Oats all my life but never have used this particular recipe until recently. These cookies are much better using margarine. They came out light and crispy...not hard as a rock.
Date published: 2017-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect blend of spices! I followed the recipe with the addition of chopped Walnuts and made bars instead of cookies. The golden color is appealing and they were so tasty, crispy on the top and chewy in the middle!
Date published: 2018-07-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Kind of miss the old recipe I understand lowering the butter content but my family immediately noticed the lack of nutmeg. Was there a reason for that change? This cookie is a Thanksgiving tradition in my house.
Date published: 2017-11-23
  • y_2018, m_10, d_20, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_85
  • loc_en_US, sid_3994, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_quakeroats

Vanishing Oatmeal
Raisin Cookies

GET RECIPE

No-fuss breakfasts for
on-the-go mornings

MAKE OVERNIGHT OATS