Mornings, meet your maker. A piping hot bowl of Quaker Oats is one of nature's most perfect energy sources. It goes great with everything from fresh or dried fruits to crunchy nuts. Even better, the goodness doesn't stop with the taste; Quaker Oats is 100% whole grains which may help reduce the risk of heart disease.*

  • Made with 100% natural wholegrain oats
  • Helps keep you full through the morning**
  • A sodium free food
  • Can be used as a healthful and tasty ingredient to many recipes. Check our recipe section!
*As part of a diet low in saturated fat and cholesterol and rich in whole grains and other plant foods.
** Serve with 8oz of skim milk.

WHERE TO BUY Compare Products
Nutrition Info
* Product formulations, packaging and promotions may change. For current information, refer to packaging on store shelves.
Nutrition Facts
Serving Size 1/2 cup dry (40 g)
Amount per Serving
Calories 150
Calories from Fat 25
%Daily Value*
Total Fat 3g*
Saturated Fat 0.5g
Trans Fat 0g
Polyunsaturated Fat 1g
Monounsaturated Fat 1g
Cholesterol 0mg
Sodium 0mg
Total Carbohydrate 27g
Dietary Fiber 4g
Soluble Fiber 2g
Sugars 1g
Insoluble Fiber 2g
Protein 5g
Vitamin A
Vitamin C
Vitamin D
*Amount in Cereal. One half cup skim milk contributes an additional 40 calories, 65mg Sodium, 6g Total Carbohydrate (6g Sugars), and 4g Protein.
*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. Your daily values may be higher or lower depending on your calorie needs:
Calories 2,000 2,500
Total Fat less than 65g 80g
Sat. Fat less than 20g 25g
Cholesterol less than 300mg 300mg
Sodium less than 2400mg 2400mg
Total Carbohydrate 300g 375g
Dietary Fiber 25g 30g


Rolled Oats

Reviews & Ratings
Quaker Oats - Old Fashioned is rated 4.0931 out of 5 by 204.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Lots more chaff recently than in previous years I wonder if Quaker has changed it processing. Every bowl I have had over recent months has bits of inedible chaff.
Date published: 2014-07-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from When oats take wing! I grew up on Quaker Oats, but today I opened two sealed cartons and from each one flew a swarm of happy, healthy moths - about 30 or 40. To be completely fair, the boxes were past expiration, but we've had moths in our cupboard for the last several months, since the boxes were new. At least now we've pinned down where they came from. I unwittingly finished those other cartons, by the way (yummy!). I saw on line that others have had the same issue. I'm sure these little guys are the bane of Quaker and Pepsico, and I feel sympathy for the people who have to deal with this. I'm not squeamish, but my oatmeal days are over. Just thought you should know.
Date published: 2015-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lose weight I have been eating 1 bowl of oatmeal every day in the morning sometimes i use pecans and banana other times I use strawberries and cranberries and sometimes just plain with cinammon and honey and is the best it helps you feel full all morning, it has a few calories and is heart healthy oh and btw I can see my clothes are lose now :) thanks quaker for mking this product!
Date published: 2014-06-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from GMO I like Quaker Oatmeal both Instant, Steel Cut and Old Fashioned. Have eaten since I was a small child, and found out today it all contains GMO. So I and my family stopped using it. We will use Bob Red Mill Organic Oatmeal. I hope Quaker STOPS using GMO ingredients and USES NON GMO and I will continue to purchase thisproduct. Thank you
Date published: 2014-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quaker, The Real Oatmeal For years, the old fashioned oats are the only ones that I buy. Yes at one time I did try the instant and the quick oatmeal when my children were young. They just didn't have the flavor and the texture that comes with the old fashioned oats. I guess it's the high amount of fiber you get with the old fashioned oats. I really enjoy them. You can add almost anything that you like to it. Fresh fruit, nuts, cinnamon, brown sugar, etc. My favorite is to add chopped fresh pears and cinnamon with a few walnuts or almonds. But as I write this, I think I have many favorites. You can even use it in place of whey to make smoothies! lol
Date published: 2015-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So many choices! I can't remember ever not loving Old Fashion Quaker Oats. Just as a cereal there is no limit to the possibilities. Some of my favorite food to mix in with my bowl of oatmeal are: mandarin oranges, apple sauce, walnuts, pecans; really any and all kinds of nuts, chocolate chips, banana bread, almond butter, peanut butter, jelly, jam, really any food you love. I like to bake and the most asked for recipe I make is "Mrs. Fields Cookies" (supposed to be the real recipe) and it has 5 cups of oatmeal and 4 cups of flour, so they must be healthier than any cookie I make (won't tell you there is also 24 ounces of chocolate chips).
Date published: 2015-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best Cholesterol lowering meal Have had trouble getting my cholesterol down. It was in the 300's. Took medication for awhile, but that only got it down to 279. Tried other things like niacin and fish oil and flax seed, in various amounts, but it still didn't lower it any lower. I didn't want to remain on medication,so I did some research of what else could help. I saw an article about eating oatmeal in a larger amount and I gave it try. Within one week, my cholesterol was down by 50 points. Woow! Wonderful. I'm eating oatmeal each day and now my cholesterol is below 200. I'm so glad that I did more research and gavethis a try. No more medication.
Date published: 2015-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Rediscovered" oatmeat at age 60! I have been looking for healthy ways to get fiber and "beta glucans" into my diet. Regular oats - more so than quick oats - were highly recommended. Quaker has been the oatmeal standard since childhood, so I looked at a box of Old Fashioned Oats at the store a couple of weeks ago. When I saw they could be cooked in the microwave, I was SOLD. They were so naturally delicious that I didn't even need to add butter and sugar, like Mom used to do to get us to eat oatmeal as kids. There are now 4 1/2 boxes in my cupboard!
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What has happened to my oatmeal? I have been eating Quaker oats all of my life. Suddenly they are like eating glue. Some kind of powdery paste. What have you done to them? I am seriously unhappy. The whole world is reeling and rocking. I need something to be normal. It would be nice if that were my breakfast.
Date published: 2014-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it !! I need to know if this is Gluten free ? I love my oat meal and want to continue as a large part of my diet but I can not find this answer anyplace. So I am starting to think I will have to ditch my oat meal.....
Date published: 2014-06-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 'Lower Sugar" I recently purchased your 'Lower Sugar' product. I expected it to have lower sugar than normal and taste less sweet. Not the case. It was so sickling sweet I checked the package and learned it now has sucralose in it!!!What were you thinking???
Date published: 2014-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the 'new' packaging! I eat Old Fashioned rolled oats at a minimum of 6 days/week and it's the main ingredient of my favorite no-bake cookies. I buy the 42oz canister and the handy pouring punch out is a real up-grade to using other brands. It sounds a bit 'market-y' to be gushing over a punch-out pouring area but it makes a huge difference when I just want the stuff to go into the bowl or measuring cup without getting on the counter! I bought another brand when the Quaker's was out of stock & learned my lesson - I was hating breakfast until I finished the canister and opened up Quaker's again.
Date published: 2014-12-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from There has DEFINATELY been a change. There has definitely been a change! The rolled oats are no longer "rolled" as they had been in the past. I have noted these changes have occurred since PESICO bought Quaker. My guess:1 - they sold off the manufacturing plants and contract buy the product, hence little to no control over the product.or2 - they have changed the processing to reduce mfg cost and improve profits.I no longer purchase Quaker oats.
Date published: 2014-12-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Gluten, pasty, new taste, bye! 70 years and I don't like change!Put it back like it was!
Date published: 2014-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from years of eating I have been eating Quaker oats old fashioned since I was about 8 years old. Almost every day my breakfast is Quaker oats. It helps keep me regular and it tastes great.
Date published: 2014-05-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 2 Mushy I came to the web site to see if we were buying the wrong product. The oat flakes are not as big and there is more "dust/flour" in the product on a percentage basis. I recall a version of the rolled oats that had almost all large flakes. I don't see what I am looking for here. Winter is coming and this "oatmeal loyalist" wants the good stuff.
Date published: 2014-10-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from bugs in food Today I opened a cylinder of Quaker oats and found it contained a large population of bugs. I have pictures, if you want them. The packaging code is 'Best before Mar 16 15 L1406'
Date published: 2014-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my family loves quaker oats My family loves the product of quaker oats both the cereal and the bars to go they are healthy for the family
Date published: 2014-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I eat the Old Fashioned every morning and love it. I am writing regarding the pull top. It should be redesigned. It is very difficult to try to pull the top off. When it finally does pull off everything pulls off the whole thing. Then every morning I have to push the plastic ring down all the way around the top of the box and then push the lid down. It's not good, A waste of time and frustrating to me every morning. Also, your Questions and Comments phone number 1-800-367-6287 is incorrect. I called to talk to a rep. regarding these problems and left a message. I received a call from another company saying Quaker Oats did not receive my message and that they get these calls all the time. You definitely have to do something about this problem. Then I tried to find another number on your website and you do not have one. You really should I had to go through all of this to tell you these problems. It's not good. You need to correct these problems for the consumer. You have a great healthy products. Your customer wants to call and talk to a rep. My time is precious taking care of my one year old grandson and here I am writing this message when I should just be able to pick up the phone and quickly talk to a rep. Hope I have helped your company with these suggestions.
Date published: 2014-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's so Verstile! I soak overnight with cinnamon stick and I add cranberries and it saves a lot of time in The mornings! I also make soup and stews out of oatmeal I just add all kinds of veggies so good! I just feel great when I eat oatmeal!
Date published: 2014-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it Healthy , Cheap , Delicious and whole food meal that is naturally low in fat , sodium and free of added sugar . It is full of fiber and is very good for cholesterol . I am a vegan . And this fits all guideline . Thank you for this healthy fast food .
Date published: 2014-06-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Old Fashioned Oats is no longer old fashioned why R-U destroying a once wonderful product? My grandmother (deceased 45yrs)ONLY used this brand. NOW hulls, chaff, container weak & spilling on store shelf, smells like brn sugar added (now posted to ingred),slimy after cooking. STOP WHAT U-R DOING and go back to the OLD product. You must make for other brands as theirs are awful too. Where can I find the awesome kind? I quit buying your brand 2yrs ago and switched to store brand and theirs is following suite.
Date published: 2015-01-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Old Fashioned Oats - definately have changed! I just opened a new box of Quaker Oats - Old Fashioned. When I cooked the oats it was definately different. I cooked it exactly as the box directed as I have all my live. The oats were chewy and not the usual texture and taste. They didn't seem to ever get done. I cooked them on the stove as they usually taste better to me than in the microwave. I'm really disappointed they have changed. Not sure what has changed but they are definately not the same.
Date published: 2015-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quaker is the Best. Have tried most or all of the other commercially available oats. Including the premium offerings. Every time, I come back to Quaker because of the consistency and taste. It is simply the best.I used to go to the market with my grandfather and he'd buy the cardboard rounds. He'd buy bananas too (and lunch-meat for my grandmother). Back then, the lid was cardboard too. The oats; however, are just as good as I remember from back then.Thank you.
Date published: 2015-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What's with the new package.. Love the oats, but where the heck is the lid?? My husband brought home a 42 oz container of old fashioned oats, and I pulled off the plastic around the edge--and no plastic lid?? So how are we meant to store the oats in our pantry.,,
Date published: 2014-10-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Salty Maple & Brown Sugar Oatmeal We have been buying the lower sugar maple and brown sugar oatmeal for a while. The last two boxes we have say they are good till 12/15, but they taste like all salt and no brown sugar. We have opened up several of the packets in both boxes, but they taste awful. Was there a recall on the product or should it taste so salty?
Date published: 2014-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So many ways to use it! I love this as a food basic in my pantry. I add to it for breakfast (raisins, cranberries, chopped apples and pears, chopped walnuts, spoonful of peanut butter and/or applesauce, and both cinnamon and ginger!), and I add it to meal entrees (instead of bread in meat loaves and burgers!) is one of my healthiest, loyal go-to and FILLING foods - this 76-year-old has strongly improved her health since she found ways to use it DAILY...
Date published: 2015-09-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Old fashioned gone wrong I eat oatmeal often for breakfast for health reasons. Lately, the old-fashioned Quaker oats has changed. It takes much longer to cook and is too chewy. It also has chaff in it. I buy it at Costco, but will have to switch to another brand as it is no longer the way to start the day. Will have to use it up in baking and find another brand for cereal. Have bought Quaker brand all my life. What happened?
Date published: 2015-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Found the recipe I needed I lost the recipe about how to cook old fashioned oats which I cut off the box to put in my recipe file. Looked it up on the Quaker Oats web site and there it was! Was able to make my grandson and granddaughter oatmeal for breakfast and they said it was much better than the instant microwave stuff! Chalk one up for Grandma!!
Date published: 2014-07-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Our answer to a diabetic diet My husband has diabetes and had a hard time regulating his blood sugar, until we found Quaker Old Fashioned. It was the answer, he lost weight and his Blood sugar has been controlled since. 2006. We eat Quaker Oats everyday for Breakfast. In winter we eat hot oats topped with plain fat free Yoghurt, sunflower seeds and berries. Yummy! In Spring we switch to plain Old fashioned oats topped with half a banana then plain Yoghurt, fruit and sunflower seeds. I also make bread and add Oats also oatcakes.
Date published: 2015-02-17
  • 2015-11-24T07:52CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_204
  • loc_en_US, sid_320, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_quakeroats
Related Recipes Cooking Instruction

Stove Top Preparation

To Make 1 Serving:

  • 1/2 Cup Oats
  • 1 Cup Water or Milk
  • Dash of salt (optional; for low sodium diets, omit salt)

To Make 2 Servings:

  • 1 cup oats
  • 1-3/4 Cups Water or Milk
  • 1/8 Tsp. Salt (optional; for low sodium diets, omit salt)
  1. Boil water or milk and salt.
  2. Stir in oats.
  3. Cook about 5 minutes over medium heat; stir occasionally.

Microwave Preparation (1 Serving)

  • 1/2 Cup Oats
  • 1 Cup Water or Milk
  • Dash of salt (optional; for low sodium diets, omit salt)
  1. Combine water or milk, salt and oats in a medium microwave-safe bowl.
  2. Microwave on HIGH 2 1/2 to 3 minutes; stir before serving.
Related Products Q&A

Other Flavors