What is gluten?
Gluten is a mixture of proteins that occur naturally in wheat, rye, barley, spelt and crossbreeds of these grains.
Why is it important to know if a food is gluten-free?
According to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) gluten-free foods benefit those consumers who suffer from celiac disease, an inherited chronic inflammatory auto-immune disorder that is estimated to affect up to three million Americans. For people who have celiac disease, consumption of gluten results in the destruction of the lining of the small intestine and the risk of other serious health conditions.
For more information on gluten-free labeling, visit: http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/GuidanceDocumentsRegulatoryInformation/Allergens/ucm362510.htm.
What foods can be labeled “gluten-free?”
According to the FDA, a food labeled “gluten-free” meets the standard of having less than 20 parts per million (PPM) of gluten. The FDA now allows manufacturers to label a food "gluten-free" if the food does not contain any of the following:
• Any type of wheat, rye, barley, spelt or crossbreeds of these grains
• An ingredient derived from these grains that has not been processed to remove gluten
• An ingredient derived from these grains and that has been processed to remove gluten, if it results in the food containing 20 or more PPM of gluten. For more information on gluten-free labeling, visit: http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/GuidanceDocumentsRegulatoryInformation/Allergens/ucm362510.htm.
Aren’t oats naturally gluten-free?
Yes, oats are naturally gluten-free. However, during farming, transportation and storage, gluten-containing grains like wheat, rye, barley and spelt may be unintentionally introduced.
How does Quaker make Gluten Free Oats?
Oats are inherently gluten-free, but may come in contact with gluten-containing grains at the field, during storage or during transportation. As the world's leading experts in oat milling, Quaker employs a breakthrough process to sort and clean the oats. This process uses both mechanical and optical sorters to specifically remove these stray grains based on density, color and length, applying a sorting protocol that we believe to be unique to the industry.
We confirm our capability to remove these grains with multiple quality checks throughout the milling process up through finished product testing so that our millers can confidently produce a gluten-free oat product that meets FDA standards. Our milling expertise is unparalleled and is how we’ve been able to turn oats into Quaker oats. As is always the case, the quality of our products and safety of our consumers is our number one priority. We take this seriously. It’s that care and attention to detail that we believe has helped earn us the trust of consumers for all these years.
Does Quaker test their products?
Yes. We have checkpoints throughout the milling process. This includes testing individual samples from each production lot of our finished product. Only if each of those samples in the product lot passes analytical testing can the lot be released from the mill.
Do these products taste different than my traditional Quaker oats?
No. These are still the same high- quality, great-tasting, Quaker Oats that are beloved for their taste and texture. We have taken extra care to ensure no stray gluten-containing grains may have made it into your delicious breakfast.
Do Quaker Gluten Free Oats meet the FDA standards for gluten-free (20 parts per million - PPM)?
Yes, Quaker Gluten Free Oats meet the less than 20 PPM standard set by the FDA.
What Quaker oatmeal products are gluten-free?
Quaker offers its gluten-free oats in three new varieties: 18oz Quaker Quick 1-Minute Oats and Quaker Instant Oatmeal in both 10-ct. Original and 8-ct. Maple & Brown Sugar flavors.
How can I determine which Quaker products are gluten-free?
Quaker gluten-free varieties are clearly labeled on packages and available in stores under the Quaker Select Starts line.
Why might I feel discomfort after initially eating gluten-free oats?
Because oats are a source of fiber, increasing pure, uncontaminated oats into a gluten-free diet is introducing fiber into what is often times a low-fiber diet. A common effect may result in mild and transient gastrointestinal symptoms. A general recommendation is to successively increase the amount of oats in the diet, to avoid or reduce intestinal symptoms.