Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

  • 1/2 Cup(s) (1 stick) plus 6 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 3/4 Cup(s) firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 Cup(s) granulated sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 Teaspoon(s) vanilla
  • 1-1/2 Cup(s) all-purpose flour
  • 1 Teaspoon(s) Baking Soda
  • 1 Teaspoon(s) ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 Teaspoon(s) salt (optional)
  • 3 Cup(s) Quaker® Oats (quick or old fashioned, uncooked)
  • 1 Cup(s) raisins

Cooking Instructions

Heat oven to 350°F. In large bowl, beat butter and sugars on medium speed of electric mixer until creamy. Add eggs and vanilla; beat well. Add combined flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt; mix well. Add oats and raisins; mix well. Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until light golden brown. Cool 1 minute on cookie sheets; remove to wire rack. Cool completely. Store tightly covered.

Serving Tips:
Bar Cookies:
Press dough onto bottom of ungreased 13 x 9-inch baking pan. Bake 30 to 35 minutes or until light golden brown. Cool completely in pan on wire rack. Cut into bars. Store tightly covered. 24 BARS.
Variations: Stir in 1 cup chopped nuts. Substitute 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips or candy-coated chocolate pieces for raisins; omit cinnamon. Substitute 1 cup diced dried mixed fruit.
High Altitude Adjustment: Increase flour to 1-3/4 cups and bake as directed.

RATINGS & REVIEWS


Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 85.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best ever!!! This is my all time fav recipe for oatmeal cookies. I made some today and halved the recipe and used golden raisins and some chopped pecans. DELICIOUS!!!! this recipe always delivers smiles!!!!
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Husbands favorite Very good , I did change to 1/3 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. Husband likes cookies less sweet. Also used dried cranberries instead of raisins.
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best cookies ever this is the best recipe i have ever tasted the cinnamon is the secret love them
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I baked a TON of these for a local soup kitchen. Everyone was talking about how good they were! I do recommend soaking the raisins in boiling water while you prepare the dough, however this is just a matter of taste. All in all, these were really easy to make and tasted wonderful. I'm actually baking more for the same soup kitchen right now. 5 stars!!
Date published: 2017-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Consistency and Shape! Very good recipe. I used about half margarine and they still came out great. I also used about twice the raisins called for in the recipe. Mine needed the full 10 minutes exactly. The cookies are good when hot, warm and cold. Excellent!
Date published: 2017-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for board game night! We have a board game night and normally people bring snacks and munchies and share with the group. This time however, no one brought anything... These cookies came to the rescue! Took about 20 minutes to make (I was away from the game for about 10 minutes total) and as soon as I set the plate piled high with cookies in front of everyone they really did vanish! :) The guys now ask me if I need ingredients before they show up :P
Date published: 2017-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Recipe! And works well with substitutions! I've always loved the original recipe but thought I'd try making a few substitutions to cut down on cholesterol and sugar. I didn't totally eliminate the ingredients that most would find "unhealthy" but I did eliminate a few. I used milled flax seed as an egg substitute and replaced the white sugar with Stevia. I used reduced sugar dried cranberries instead of raisins. I chilled the dough before baking. They were delicious.
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect consistency, flavor, and quick! I had a potluck yesterday and hadn't decided on what to take yet, so I went for my go-to food item, cookies. I had oatmeal and raisins on had so it was obvious to go for oatmeal raisin cookies, but I didn't have a recipe. This recipe yielded a large amount, I didn't count all of them but I had 30 for the party along side some I saved for home. These cookies came out a perfect size, were soft and chewy, and had great flavor. I was worried at first because my batter looked really wet but the cookies held shape and came out beautifully. I will say that unless you're really looking for a SUPER soft cookie, bake them longer than 8-10 minutes. I baked mine for 13-14 minutes and personally I like my cookies on the crunchy side so my last batch, which only had a few cookies on it, baked for 18 minutes and the cookies came out with a perfect crunch!Easy recipe for a quick snack/party dessert
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I improvised! I thought I bought Quaker Oats but was mistaken. I did have the Apple/Cinnamon instant oatmeal on hand. I used four packets (2 cups) instead and wow! They are awesome!! Everyone loves them!!
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Them! I have made these cookies like 4 times and have a request to make them for Christmas! I have added walnuts to them. This time I'll be adding walnuts and dried cranberries. They are GREAT!
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't Stop Eating them! I made bars using a 9x13 pan. I followed the recipe, but I also added half cup of chocolate chips, and an overripe banana, just to add some nutrition, and I didn't want to make banana bread lol. I've made these bars without those additions, as well as without cinnamon. It's so delicious!!
Date published: 2017-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New go to! I am always trying oatmeal cookie receipies for my hubby who considers himself a connoisseur on the topic! This is THE ONE!! For him it has a lot to do with texture, and this gets 5 stars in that and all departments! I trust any receipe from Quaker, my pantry is never without a backup!
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cookie!!! I have made these several times and each time they were a hit. My husband and children love them. Have not tried the bars yet, but think I will when I made them for our car club picnic tomorrow. Everyone should try to make them at least once. As in my review title, Great cookie.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great flavor After trying a couple other oatmeal cookies recipes with little success, i had great luck with this one. These didn't crumble and spread. Also used craisens and choclate chips instead of raisens.
Date published: 2018-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Cookie exchange cookie I needed a cookie that made large batches for a Christmas cookie exchange party. I had to make 10 dozen. I left out the raisins added cranberries pecans white chocolate chips and coconut. They were fantastic and everyone loved them. That was 6 years ago, today I still bring these cookies to the exchange party.
Date published: 2017-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Oatmeal Cookie Recipe This is the best oatmeal cookie recipe ever! I have been using this recipe for 20 years.
Date published: 2018-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I enjoy Good for me and all has benefits good for overall health better than chocolate chip
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My go to cookie recipe These have always been a favorite. I have been making them for the last 30 years.
Date published: 2017-12-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Result from this Recipe This recipe left off the 2nd stick of butter which caused the cookies not to spread and just sit like little lumps on the cookie sheet. Wasted all my expensive ingredients. Just don't use this one!
Date published: 2017-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious, I give these five stars! I used quick oats and I soaked my raisins in boiling water with a splash of spiced rum for 10 minutes, then drained. I followed the receipt and baked for 10 minutes. They were plump and moist. They are browned on the bottom, but barely gold on top.
Date published: 2017-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Cookie! These are very tasty cookies, enjoyed them very much. "Cons" for these cookies: This is probably something I did wrong because I don't bake a lot, but, the first pan came out beautifully. They spread nicely and browned up great. The second and third pans didn't spread. I thought that was weird. Also, it took more like 18 minutes for them to cook.
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone loves these cookies !! We live in a gated community, so everyone is like family. We all look out for all the kids playing, & tell them to stop if it looks like they might get hurt or something. So when we bake me & the hubby we make these as one of the cookies because the kids & the parents ask for them ! We really enjoy making them too.
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So EASY and QUICK! :D Super duper easy. First time making cookies ever and I didnt have to think twice. I used pancake syrup instead of vanilla and that worked perfectly! My mom and brother came out from their rooms to ask what smelled so good and soon... "Vanishing Oatmeal Raisins" lived up to their name!
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gone instantly with nothing to save! This by far is the best recipe ever!!! I love having a way to get my picky unoatmeal eating family to eat oatmeal. These cookies are literally devoured, nothing left, as soon as they come out of the oven (mind you, I have three teenage boys and am married to a "cookie monster.")
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe!! We have made these cookies for close to 30 years. My daughter used to sent them to her father when he was stationed in Bosnia and Korea where he shared them with his colleagues. Everyone loved them. The recipe used to be printed on the lid. Easy to share that way!!
Date published: 2017-09-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Family loved it Quaker is the best I have my husband hooked on oatmeal
Date published: 2018-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best oatmeal cookies I've ever tasted. My boss made these cookies & brought to work earlier this week. She used craisins instead of raisins & they were awesome. I had to make some for home & made them with dates instead. These were by far the best oatmeal cookies I've ever tasted.
Date published: 2018-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family loved it My wife asked me to apbake oatmeal raisin cookies and we just happen to buy Quaker oatmeal and sure enough there is recipe on lid.followed recipe exactly but added cup of chocolate chips and they are delicious. Batch made like 50 cookies
Date published: 2017-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vanishing is the right word! I've made these cookies a few times now and kids, adults and even picky eaters love these. In my variation I omit the raisins but add a cup of low sugar dried cranberries, along with a 1/2-3/4 cup of dark chocolate chunks. Delicious!
Date published: 2017-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding This wasn't the recipe I thought it would be on the Oatmeal package. I was looking for the regular oatmeal raisin recipe.. I made these. Wow they are great. My wife loves them. will definitely make them again. Highly recommend
Date published: 2017-10-29
  • y_2018, m_4, d_25, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_85
  • loc_en_US, sid_2024, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_quakeroats

Vanishing Oatmeal
Raisin Cookies

GET RECIPE

No-fuss breakfasts for
on-the-go mornings

MAKE OVERNIGHT OATS