Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

  • 1/2 Cup(s) (1 stick) plus 6 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 3/4 Cup(s) firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 Cup(s) granulated sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 Teaspoon(s) vanilla
  • 1-1/2 Cup(s) all-purpose flour
  • 1 Teaspoon(s) Baking Soda
  • 1 Teaspoon(s) ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 Teaspoon(s) salt (optional)
  • 3 Cup(s) Quaker® Oats (quick or old fashioned, uncooked)
  • 1 Cup(s) raisins

Cooking Instructions

Heat oven to 350°F. In large bowl, beat butter and sugars on medium speed of electric mixer until creamy. Add eggs and vanilla; beat well. Add combined flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt; mix well. Add oats and raisins; mix well. Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until light golden brown. Cool 1 minute on cookie sheets; remove to wire rack. Cool completely. Store tightly covered.

Serving Tips:
Bar Cookies:
Press dough onto bottom of ungreased 13 x 9-inch baking pan. Bake 30 to 35 minutes or until light golden brown. Cool completely in pan on wire rack. Cut into bars. Store tightly covered. 24 BARS.
Variations: Stir in 1 cup chopped nuts. Substitute 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips or candy-coated chocolate pieces for raisins; omit cinnamon. Substitute 1 cup diced dried mixed fruit.
High Altitude Adjustment: Increase flour to 1-3/4 cups and bake as directed.

RATINGS & REVIEWS


Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 55.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Cookie with a Couple of Adjustments This is a great recipe, but I find that in my oatmeal cookies I have on my blog using all dark brown sugar tastes the best. I also use Arrowhead Mills Whole Wheat Pastry Flour. For some reason this gives it an even warmer, nuttier flavor.
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I improvised! I thought I bought Quaker Oats but was mistaken. I did have the Apple/Cinnamon instant oatmeal on hand. I used four packets (2 cups) instead and wow! They are awesome!! Everyone loves them!!
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best ever!!! This is my all time fav recipe for oatmeal cookies. I made some today and halved the recipe and used golden raisins and some chopped pecans. DELICIOUS!!!! this recipe always delivers smiles!!!!
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Husbands favorite Very good , I did change to 1/3 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. Husband likes cookies less sweet. Also used dried cranberries instead of raisins.
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Cookie exchange cookie I needed a cookie that made large batches for a Christmas cookie exchange party. I had to make 10 dozen. I left out the raisins added cranberries pecans white chocolate chips and coconut. They were fantastic and everyone loved them. That was 6 years ago, today I still bring these cookies to the exchange party.
Date published: 2017-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for board game night! We have a board game night and normally people bring snacks and munchies and share with the group. This time however, no one brought anything... These cookies came to the rescue! Took about 20 minutes to make (I was away from the game for about 10 minutes total) and as soon as I set the plate piled high with cookies in front of everyone they really did vanish! :) The guys now ask me if I need ingredients before they show up :P
Date published: 2017-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Recipe! And works well with substitutions! I've always loved the original recipe but thought I'd try making a few substitutions to cut down on cholesterol and sugar. I didn't totally eliminate the ingredients that most would find "unhealthy" but I did eliminate a few. I used milled flax seed as an egg substitute and replaced the white sugar with Stevia. I used reduced sugar dried cranberries instead of raisins. I chilled the dough before baking. They were delicious.
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect consistency, flavor, and quick! I had a potluck yesterday and hadn't decided on what to take yet, so I went for my go-to food item, cookies. I had oatmeal and raisins on had so it was obvious to go for oatmeal raisin cookies, but I didn't have a recipe. This recipe yielded a large amount, I didn't count all of them but I had 30 for the party along side some I saved for home. These cookies came out a perfect size, were soft and chewy, and had great flavor. I was worried at first because my batter looked really wet but the cookies held shape and came out beautifully. I will say that unless you're really looking for a SUPER soft cookie, bake them longer than 8-10 minutes. I baked mine for 13-14 minutes and personally I like my cookies on the crunchy side so my last batch, which only had a few cookies on it, baked for 18 minutes and the cookies came out with a perfect crunch!Easy recipe for a quick snack/party dessert
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Cookie! These are very tasty cookies, enjoyed them very much. "Cons" for these cookies: This is probably something I did wrong because I don't bake a lot, but, the first pan came out beautifully. They spread nicely and browned up great. The second and third pans didn't spread. I thought that was weird. Also, it took more like 18 minutes for them to cook.
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't Stop Eating them! I made bars using a 9x13 pan. I followed the recipe, but I also added half cup of chocolate chips, and an overripe banana, just to add some nutrition, and I didn't want to make banana bread lol. I've made these bars without those additions, as well as without cinnamon. It's so delicious!!
Date published: 2017-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So EASY and QUICK! :D Super duper easy. First time making cookies ever and I didnt have to think twice. I used pancake syrup instead of vanilla and that worked perfectly! My mom and brother came out from their rooms to ask what smelled so good and soon... "Vanishing Oatmeal Raisins" lived up to their name!
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New go to! I am always trying oatmeal cookie receipies for my hubby who considers himself a connoisseur on the topic! This is THE ONE!! For him it has a lot to do with texture, and this gets 5 stars in that and all departments! I trust any receipe from Quaker, my pantry is never without a backup!
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cookie!!! I have made these several times and each time they were a hit. My husband and children love them. Have not tried the bars yet, but think I will when I made them for our car club picnic tomorrow. Everyone should try to make them at least once. As in my review title, Great cookie.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gone instantly with nothing to save! This by far is the best recipe ever!!! I love having a way to get my picky unoatmeal eating family to eat oatmeal. These cookies are literally devoured, nothing left, as soon as they come out of the oven (mind you, I have three teenage boys and am married to a "cookie monster.")
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe!! We have made these cookies for close to 30 years. My daughter used to sent them to her father when he was stationed in Bosnia and Korea where he shared them with his colleagues. Everyone loved them. The recipe used to be printed on the lid. Easy to share that way!!
Date published: 2017-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding This wasn't the recipe I thought it would be on the Oatmeal package. I was looking for the regular oatmeal raisin recipe.. I made these. Wow they are great. My wife loves them. will definitely make them again. Highly recommend
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Flavor and Texture I found some two year old Old Fashioned Oats and Whole Wheat flour at our vacation home and looked up this recipe. It came out great! Cookies are dark and chewy with just the right amount of salty sweetness. Thanks Quaker!
Date published: 2017-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best recipe! I make these gluten free. I used gluten free Quaker oats and gluten free flour. Even making them with regular oats and flour, this recipe tops any I have ever used! Best recipe....don't over bake them.
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Result from this Recipe This recipe left off the 2nd stick of butter which caused the cookies not to spread and just sit like little lumps on the cookie sheet. Wasted all my expensive ingredients. Just don't use this one!
Date published: 2017-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These cookies did Not last long. The whole family loved these cookies, whoever named these cookies Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies were 100% accurate. The best oatmeal cookies we have had. Followed recipe but used Golden raisins.
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ihave been baking these cookies for 3 generations. so easy and so many things tyes of cookies you can make. we like them w/ cocnut and nuts or subatute peanut butter for butter. put any kind of things you want. everyone loves oatmeal cookies.
Date published: 2017-09-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too much butter! Way too much butter given only 1-1/2 cups of AP flour. I even added more flour, but couldn't get the cookies to raise. I got flat, oily cookies. Tossed them all. Very disappointing.
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First Time Baking I didn't realize how good this recipe was; I am glad I tried it for the first time. Recipe was easy to follow. Cooked in 10 minutes. Makes plenty with the staples in your pantry.
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful after-school snacks Thank heavens cookies are easy to make -- my grandchildren want me to make these every day. One change, they don't like raisins so I use dried cranberries and sometimes add walnuts.
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and yummy While the cookies are great, I love the bars. I use a bit less sugar, a bit more cinnamon and oatmeal. Then I ice with strands of a thin very vanilla icing after cutting.
Date published: 2017-06-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not good I used this recipe after I failed to find the one I prefer. I did exact measurements and directions. The end result was super dry and hard cookies. I dont recommend this
Date published: 2017-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are THE best! My son way prefers these over anything sweet and they are my second favorite cookie (next to Toll House chocolate chip). And easy to make, too. ❤
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Longtime Favorite! I've been making these cookies over 50 years. They are my favorite go-to oatmeal cookie, sometimes I add chocolate chips along with the raisins.
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My son loved them. True to the Name " Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies ". My son Loved them. They were gone in 2 days. Asked me to make them again, like today.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cookies! They truly are vanishing! We make these every time, and they never fail us. I love them, and I have never liked oatmeal raisin cookies.
Date published: 2017-02-09
  • y_2017, m_11, d_17, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_55
  • loc_en_US, sid_2024, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_quakeroats

Vanishing Oatmeal
Raisin Cookies

GET RECIPE

No-fuss breakfasts for
on-the-go mornings

MAKE OVERNIGHT OATS

Get product news, special offers, delicious recipes, and more.