Gradient overlay
  • 1 1/4 Cup(s) (2-1/2 sticks) margarine or butter, softened
  • 3/4 Cup(s) firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 Cup(s) granulated sugar
  • 1 Egg(s)
  • 1 Teaspoon(s) vanilla
  • 1 1/2 Cup(s) all-purpose flour
  • 1 Teaspoon(s) Baking Soda
  • 1 Teaspoon(s) ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 Teaspoon(s) salt (optional)
  • 1/4 Teaspoon(s) ground nutmeg
  • 3 Cup(s) Quaker® Oats (quick or old fashioned, uncooked)

Cooking Instructions

Heat oven to 375°F. In large bowl, beat margarine and sugars until creamy. Add egg and vanilla; beat well. Add combined flour, baking soda, cinnamon, salt and nutmeg; mix well. Add oats; mix well. Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake 8 to 9 minutes for a chewy cookie or 10 to 11 minutes for a crisp cookie. Cool 1 minute on cookie sheets; remove to wire rack. Cool completely. Store tightly covered.

Serving Tips:
Bar Cookies:
Press dough onto bottom of ungreased 13 x 9-inch baking pan. Bake 25 to 30 minutes or until light golden brown. Cool completely in pan on wire rack. Cut into bars. Store tightly covered.
24 BARS
Variations:
  • Stir in 1 cup raisins or chopped nuts.
  • Omit spices; stir in 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips, butterscotch chips or peanut butter-flavored chips.

COOK NOTE:

High Altitude Adjustment: Increase flour to 1-3/4 cups and bake as directed.


RATINGS & REVIEWS


Quaker's Best Oatmeal Cookies is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 61.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quakers recipe from many years ago I found this recipe in the L.A. times 20 + years ago. It is without a doubt the best oat cookie recipe there is.I've made it hundreds of times with always rave reviews. If your feeling in need of a compliment turn on the oven make a batch!
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They are the best I've ever made!! Couldn't find my old recipe , decided on this one. No regrets. They are the best! I baked them for 10 minutes and all 3 dozen came out perfect. I also added about half cup raisins . T'is my new go to for Oatmeal Cookies. MMM Delicious
Date published: 2017-03-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from DISGUSTING Don't get me wrong, these cookies looked delicious. But let me just tell you one thing: DO NOT USE STEEL CUT OATS!!!!! THEY WERE HARD AND GROSS AND I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND USING THEM TO ANYBODY!!! Otherwise great cookies, Mr. Quaker. :)
Date published: 2017-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious cookies These are just how I like oatmeal cookies. I omitted all of the spices and added red and green smarties for the kids for xmas. I halved the recipe and still got more than 3 dozen cookies... I guess I make them small!
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results! I baked with this recipe twice for a bake sale at work. I sold all the cookies and my coworkers loved it! I also really liked them. I skipped the nutmeg and added some granny smith apple pieces. Yummy!
Date published: 2017-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best oatmeal raisin cookies I ever made! I've used Quaker Oats all my life but never have used this particular recipe until recently. These cookies are much better using margarine. They came out light and crispy...not hard as a rock.
Date published: 2017-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Conversion I think I have bit of different cup than US .. Anybody point me please in grams? Just about these ingredients.. Sugar, Flour and Butter?I have found google but simply I could not rely on.
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to make vegan and sooo good Just substitute 1/4 cup firm tofu for the egg. Mix it up first in mixer. Then add the other ingredients (vegan margarine in place of butter) and make as directed. They came out perfect.
Date published: 2016-12-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Kind of miss the old recipe I understand lowering the butter content but my family immediately noticed the lack of nutmeg. Was there a reason for that change? This cookie is a Thanksgiving tradition in my house.
Date published: 2017-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's been a family favorite for years!! It's easy to make the dough a day ahead and refrigerate. I use margarine for a softer/chewy cookie - my Mom uses Crisco for a firmer cookie. Have never had a batch turn out poorly.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST oatmeal cookies i ever made everyone in my family loved this amazing recipe it is life changing. I never made cookies before and theses just melt in your mouth and they were super easy to make no trouble at all
Date published: 2017-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent cookies...with a few tweeks I used all brown sugar. Only a dash of cinnamon. No nutmeg. Added walnuts, dried cranberries, coconut, and pumpkin seeds. A-m-a-z-ing. And I don't even really like oatmeal cookies.
Date published: 2017-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Husband always asks for these! These cookies are my husbands very favorite. He would eat them every day if I would let him. I make more during the Holidays, and he is a very happy man!
Date published: 2017-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like my chewy cookies It is easy to make, aromatic and healthy with the use of oats, vanilla and spices. It is hard to find a variety of chewy cookies in store near my place.
Date published: 2017-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect consistency Made these cookies for the first time. They are a prefect blend of chewy and crispy . Very flavorful . I added golden raisins that added great flavor .
Date published: 2017-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best cookies ever I love these cookies and so does the rest of the family. This is a go to recipe when you have a sweet tooth craving and it's easy to follow!
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best recipe These cookies are absolutely delicious. I did cut down on the sugars, and they still turned out amazing.
Date published: 2017-12-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very dry and crumbled Cookies never spread out! Very dry and crumbled! Had to press with spatula to spread them out!
Date published: 2017-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed anyways I dropped by rounded teaspoon and the cookies did not flatten out. But they were enjoyed
Date published: 2017-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My kids is going to love cookies I love allot them and Ian going to try all of them with my kids and help with eating good
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I added a extra egg for more moist. I also added 1 C Raisins and 1C Chopped pecans.
Date published: 2017-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best cookes ever Love these cookes very easy to make they taste really good to
Date published: 2017-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best oatmeal cookies ever We absolutely love these cookies. They are soft and so good.
Date published: 2017-10-31
  • y_2018, m_1, d_19, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_61
  • loc_en_US, sid_3994, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_quakeroats

Vanishing Oatmeal
Raisin Cookies

GET RECIPE

No-fuss breakfasts for
on-the-go mornings

MAKE OVERNIGHT OATS

Get product news, special offers, delicious recipes, and more.