Gradient overlay
  • 1 1/4 Cup(s) (2-1/2 sticks) margarine or butter, softened
  • 3/4 Cup(s) firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 Cup(s) granulated sugar
  • 1 Egg(s)
  • 1 Teaspoon(s) vanilla
  • 1 1/2 Cup(s) all-purpose flour
  • 1 Teaspoon(s) Baking Soda
  • 1 Teaspoon(s) ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 Teaspoon(s) salt (optional)
  • 1/4 Teaspoon(s) ground nutmeg
  • 3 Cup(s) Quaker® Oats (quick or old fashioned, uncooked)

Cooking Instructions

Heat oven to 375°F. In large bowl, beat margarine and sugars until creamy. Add egg and vanilla; beat well. Add combined flour, baking soda, cinnamon, salt and nutmeg; mix well. Add oats; mix well. Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake 8 to 9 minutes for a chewy cookie or 10 to 11 minutes for a crisp cookie. Cool 1 minute on cookie sheets; remove to wire rack. Cool completely. Store tightly covered.

Serving Tips:
Bar Cookies:
Press dough onto bottom of ungreased 13 x 9-inch baking pan. Bake 25 to 30 minutes or until light golden brown. Cool completely in pan on wire rack. Cut into bars. Store tightly covered.
24 BARS
Variations:
  • Stir in 1 cup raisins or chopped nuts.
  • Omit spices; stir in 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips, butterscotch chips or peanut butter-flavored chips.

COOK NOTE:

High Altitude Adjustment: Increase flour to 1-3/4 cups and bake as directed.


RATINGS & REVIEWS


Quaker's Best Oatmeal Cookies is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 53.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taste just like Quaker store bought soft cookies! Very simple recipe. First time making these cookies. Recipe says it makes 36 cookies. I made 24 cookies and a small pan of granola crunchy bars, cut into 6. Both were delicious.I took the cookies out at 9 minutes and they were super soft. I used white ch.chips and crushed peanuts. Can't go wrong. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Friends & Family Fav! We love these cookies. I have always made mine with cranraisins since raisins are not my favorite. It makes a BIG BIG difference if you use fresh ground nutmeg. The taste of this cookie is bumped up tremendously.
Date published: 2017-02-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not what was expected in a Quaker Oats product!ter Thin cookie, no form, tasted okay, but will find a better recipe. Made four special bags for Father's Day. Embarrassed when not the quality cookie everyone looks forward to!
Date published: 2017-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deliciously Chewy Gluten Free & Dairy Free too! Made these with GF flour (Bob's Red Mill One-to-One flour) & DF GF Chocolate Mini Chips (Enjoy Life), baked 11-12 min. - deliciously chewy!
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my kids totally loved these. These were awesome. My 8 year old daughter helped. These are quick and easy for kids to do. I definitely give these 5 stars.
Date published: 2017-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the BEST! My daughter wanted to make oatmeal cookies, so we made a recipe from a cookbook I had. They were totally disappointing! The next week, I remembered I had a Quaker cookie jar. Lo and behold, it had this recipe printed on the cookie jar! This was surely a sign! We made the recipe, adding raisins at the end. These are truly delicious cookies!! Thank you!
Date published: 2017-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and delicious! I baked these cookies for about 10 min per batch 1 dozen at a time, they came out perfectly soft and chewy. They look almost underdone when first pulled out, but continue to finish and set in the hot pan. The spices make these a nice savory cookie, great if you want a little sweet without being overwhelmed by sugar.
Date published: 2017-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Oatmeal Cookie Recipe Of Them All! I make these every year and always manage to talk someone who doesn't like oatmeal cookies into trying them and you know what, I have converted a nice group of people into liking these. The key ingredient is the nutmeg. That one ingredient completely makes this recipe. Instead of raisins I also use dry cranberries.
Date published: 2016-12-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from GREAT RECIPE LOUSY WEBSITE There is no printer friendly option....my printer spit out FIVE pages of advertisements and the ACTUAL recipe is on a font so small that I need cheater glasses to read it...
Date published: 2017-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from success both times! I have made this recipe twice so far. I use egg replacer (not the egg whites, the potato starch and tapioca stuff) instead of egg, and I leave out the nutmeg. The cook time for soft cookies is 11 minutes. Perfection!
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chewy, Tasty, Flavorful! This cookie tastes like my grandma used to make! I didn't have nutmeg, so I used pumpkin spice as a substitute! Perfect! It made 46 cookies about 2.5 inches in diameter. I made chewy cookies, baked for 8 minutes!
Date published: 2017-04-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It sucks This is the worse recipe I've ever tried it will not hold together and it bakes horrible save your time and ingredients
Date published: 2017-05-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Oats are hard Very disappointing. The oats are still hard. I didn't think it was possible to cook oats in 8 to 10 minutes. Maybe oatmeal would work but these cookies are not good. I should have just bought them at Costco. That is what I bought previously. Tho bottoms of the cookies get too well done.
Date published: 2017-03-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from taste dry unflavorful. The cookies didn't have much flavor and I followed the recipe exactly even cooked 8 minutes so they wouldn't be dry.
Date published: 2017-01-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Need a working print option The print button doesn't work. The print preview shows blank pages... I still plan to make the cookies though.
Date published: 2017-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm making more because my boyfriend loved them! They were absolutely chewy and delicious, bake for 8 minutes for maximum chewyness
Date published: 2017-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Cookies Great recipe, easy to make and tastes just like grandma used to make!
Date published: 2017-03-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from delicious cookies Oatmeal cookies for real delicious so good my family enjoy them
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Veganize! This is a delicious recipe. I used non-dairy margarine and instead of an egg used 2 tablespoons ground flax seed and 1 tablespoon molasses. Soft and chewy, just like the family loves! And egg and dairy free means cholesterol & cruelty free!
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So yum They came out wonderfully: soft, moist yet still a little chewy. I actually messed this up by using baking powder (doubled it as the Internet said to make it equivalent to baking soda). Then, I couldn't find my cookie sheets, so I used a muffin pan. I let them cook for about 12 minutes, since they were fatter portions. But still so good.
Date published: 2017-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband loved these cookies I made these using old fashion oats. They were wonderful!
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A multi-generation favorite My Mom made these cookies for me, and when I was old enough to use the oven safely, I started making them myself! Many years later, I'm still making and loving them. Sometimes, I make a batch of buttercream frosting and make oatmeal cream pies with them. Needless to say, they don't stay around very long. This is a great recipe!
Date published: 2017-09-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from They spread out way too much. As I was making them I thought that there was too much butter in them. The flavor is ok, but not like my old Quaker oatmeal cookies. I didn't have my recope with me, so tried these. They felt way to greasy when I was putting them on the cookie sheet. They didn't puff up and I used a new box of baking soda also.
Date published: 2017-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best oatmeal cookie recipe ever!! Most oatmeal cookies recipes are bland and boring but I've made this cookie recipe twice now and it's by far the best oatmeal cookie I've ever made. They turn out chewy, moist and flavorful. I love the cinnamon in it, I did add a little extra nutmeg and allspice. I will definitely be making this again.
Date published: 2017-07-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dry The cookies are very dry and I followed the recipe exactly. It said you needed brown sugar but it never said when to use it. So I chose not to use it because there might have been a typo. Very disappointed and I cooked them for nine minutes too so they weren't dry. Not a lot of flavour to the cookies.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe for over 40 years My mom made these for me, I make them for my kids. Only change I make is I leave out the cinnamon and nutmeg. Also, have to make three batches: my daughter and I put raisins in, my son puts semi-sweet chocolate chips in his, and my husband likes just the oatmeal cookies.
Date published: 2017-08-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Recipe Changed This has always been my go to recipe, however it has changed. I needed to cut down on the amount of flour...however, I had already put most of it in to the batter, so I added about 3 T of butter and another egg.....still not right, but not a crumbled dry mess.
Date published: 2017-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious and easy Actually I can't bake really well. But this recipe really easy and how proud I am, sucess make this cookie, crispy on the outside, chewy in the inside.I add date and chocochip in the dough. Really delicious. Thank you very much for the recipe.
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quakers recipe from many years ago I found this recipe in the L.A. times 20 + years ago. It is without a doubt the best oat cookie recipe there is.I've made it hundreds of times with always rave reviews. If your feeling in need of a compliment turn on the oven make a batch!
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They are the best I've ever made!! Couldn't find my old recipe , decided on this one. No regrets. They are the best! I baked them for 10 minutes and all 3 dozen came out perfect. I also added about half cup raisins . T'is my new go to for Oatmeal Cookies. MMM Delicious
Date published: 2017-03-11
  • y_2017, m_11, d_17, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_53
  • loc_en_US, sid_3994, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_quakeroats

Vanishing Oatmeal
Raisin Cookies

GET RECIPE

No-fuss breakfasts for
on-the-go mornings

MAKE OVERNIGHT OATS

Get product news, special offers, delicious recipes, and more.